spell reel


a collective film assembled by Filipa César
with Anita Fernandez, Flora Gomes, Sana na N’Hada et al.

An archive of film and audio material in Bissau. On the verge of complete ruin, the footage testifies to the birth of Guinean cinema as part of the decolonising vision of Amílcar Cabral, the liberation leader who was assassinated in 1973. In collaboration with the Guinean filmmakers Sana na N’Hada and Flora Gomes, as well as many allies, Filipa César imagines a journey wherein this fragile matter from the past operates as a visionary prism of shrapnel, with which to look through. Digitised in Berlin and screened at various locations – in what would come to resemble a transnational itinerant cinema – the archive convokes debates, storytelling and forecasts. From their screening in isolated villages in Guinea-Bissau to European capitals, the silent reels are now a place from which people may search for antidotes to a world in crisis.

luta ca caba inda


Edited by Filipa César, Tobias Hering, Carolina Rito
Softcover with poster, 16×23 cm, 424 pages
ISBN 978-3-943620-60-3
Published by Archive Books

Contributions by: Joshua Kwesi Aikins, Jean-Pierre Bekolo, Sofia Bento, Suleimane Biai, Amílcar Cabral, Filipa César, Angela Davis, Adama Djansane, Famata Djassi, Anita Fernandez, Anselm Franke, Victor Freire Monteiro, Flora Gomes, Marie-Hélène Gutberlet, Louis Henderson, Tobias Hering, Grada Kilomba, Napuli Paul Lunga, Nuno da Luz, Lennart Malmer, Miriam Makeba, Olivier Marboeuf, Barbara Marcel, Chris Marker, Diana McCarty, Anna Canby Monk, Ahlam Mosteghanemi, Jin Mustafa, Sana na n’Hada, Joel Pizzini, Carolina Rito, Ingela Romare, Serge Rompza, Aissatu Seidi, Gonçalo Sena, Ahmed Sékou Touré, Sónia Vaz Borges, Ala Younis.

The Struggle Is Not Over Yet


Edited by Filipa César, Nuno Faria, Tobias Hering
Softcover, 14,7×21,5 cm, 256 pages
ISBN 978-3-943620-57-3
Published by Archive Books and A Oficina, CIPRL

Contributions by Jean-Pierre Bekolo, Sónia Borges, Wladimir de Brito, Filipa César, Anselm Franke, Nuno Faria, Louis Henderson, Tobias Hering, Grada Kilomba, Catarina Laranjeiro, Patrícia Leal, Olivier Marboeuf, Sana Na N’Hada, Yonamine, Ala Younis.